Possession of Methamphetamine

Methamphetamine Possession

Have you been arrested for possession of methamphetamine in Houston or Harris County? If you have, the severity of your charge could vary. The potential range of punishment will depend on how much methamphetamine you have been found with. The penalties begin at state jail felony, which carries a maximum of two years in state jail, and go up from there.

Being found guilty of possession of any amount of methamphetamine will be a felony—even if it is less than one gram. Meth is classified with the most addictive and dangerous drugs under Texas law. This means that you will face the harshest possible penalties if convicted of possession of methamphetamine.

Methamphetamine is Something Police Pursue Aggressively

Meth has become a major problem in Texas in recent years. This has resulted in the possession of methamphetamine something that judges and law enforcement pursue aggressively, especially in Houston.

If you are distributing or selling methamphetamine, the penalties are more severe. In Harris County, prosecutors routinely charge individuals for trace amounts, such as the dusty residue found on surfaces. Prosecutors are known to bring charges for even several hundredths of a gram.

Texas Methamphetamine Possession Penalties

The penalties for possession of meth are high. This table reflects the maximum allowable penalties under Texas law.

Amount of Meth Offense Classification Penalty
Less than 1 gram State jail felony Up to 2 years in prison and $10,000
1 gram- 3.99 grams 3rd degree felony 2-10 yrs. in prison and $10,000
4- 199 grams 2nd degree felony 2- 20 yrs. in prison and $10,000
200- 399 grams 1st degree felony 5- 99 yrs. in prison and $10,000
400 grams + Enhanced 1st-degree felony 10- 99 yrs. in prison and $100,000

Just Because You Are Charged Does Not Mean You Are Guilty

I often speak to clients and potential clients who believe that they were caught red handed and that there would be no chance of defending their case. However, there are many ways to fight the charges against you. It is crucial that you call me so to discuss your case.

In Houston where I primarily practice, people who are facing a possession of a methamphetamine possession charge commonly believe that they are guilty because they were caught with drugs. This is not necessarily the case. There are many ways to fight the charges against you.

Fighting Your Meth Charge

If you have been charged with either possession or sale of meth in Houston, you need to ensure that your rights are protected. You should speak with a drug defense lawyer at Zavala Texas Law as soon as you know that you are going to be charged with any drug offense. With the help of your attorney, you can work together to build a case that will maximize your chances of a successful outcome in your specific case.

We may be able to push for leniency or the reduction of your charges if circumstances allow, so do not hesitate to get started today. The sooner you give us a call, the sooner we can begin to build a solid case on your behalf.

Tell Us What Happened





Business Hours

Monday – Friday 9am to 6pm

Your business is important to us and we encourage you to call (832) 819-3723 if you need help during non-business hours.